Skip to content

Articles from May 2017

Laveen Recognizes Retirees

DSC_1947The Laveen Elementary School District recognized this year’s retirees with a reception held on the patio of the Laveen Education Center. Retirees brought their family and friends to celebrate their longstanding service to the students of Laveen. Following the reception, the Governing Board recognized each individual with an award.

The 2017 retirees include:

Vicki Canisales – Administrative Assistant, Student Services Department (23 years with Laveen)

Kandy Clauss – Preschool Coordinator, Laveen School (10 years with Laveen)

Lydia Deguzman – Special Education Instructional Associate, Laveen School (11 years with Laveen)

Mitchell Garcia – Lead Custodian, M.C. Cash School (19 years with Laveen)

Margo Hilton – 4th Grade Teacher, Cheatham (10 years with Laveen)

Jan Hoskovec – Social Studies Teacher, Laveen School (31 years with Laveen)

Lora Morales – ELD Instructional Coach, Desert Meadows (2 years with Laveen)

Steve Preis – Principal Desert Meadows School (12 years with Laveen)

Colleen Reinboldt – Occupational Therapist, Laveen School (9 years with Laveen)

 Photos from the retirement celebration can be found on our flickr page.




Read more

12 Individuals Recognized as Laveen Legends

The Laveen Elementary School District recognized 12 individuals as Laveen Legends. Each recipient was honored for their positive contributions to Laveen schools. Recipients are:

  • Steven Gerace – Assistant Principal, Cheatham Elementary School
  • Brandy Seechoma – School Secretary, Desert Meadows School
  •  Jackie Morales – Volunteer, Laveen Elementary School
  • Brenda Hacker – Volunteer, M.C. Cash Elementary School
  • Maggie Jolly – PTO President, Paseo Pointe School
  • Elizabeth Fritts – PTO Member, Rogers Ranch School
  • Cecilia Lamb – Supervisory Associate, Trailside Point Performing Arts Academy
  • Jacqueline Alvarado – PTO President, Vista del Sur Accelerated Academy
  • Michael Dicken – Laveen Art League Founder
  • Mario Espericueta – Laveen Lions Club Member
  • Catherine Miranda – State Senator – LD27
  • Nindi Wadhwa – Scooptacular Business Owner

An awards dinner, sponsored by Chasse Building Team and Orcutt Winslow , was held on May 17 in the Trailside Point Performing Arts Building.

Photos from the event can be found on our flickr page.



Read more

Bus Pass System Implemented

Laveen is implementing a new bus pass system for the 2017-18 school year. Because safety is a primary concern of the Laveen School District, this bus pass system will tell our dispatchers if a student was on board and where they exited.

All school buses will be equipped with electronic card readers; new student ID badges that contain a chip will be issued to all bus riders. As students board and exit the bus, he or she will tap their badge against the reader. A green light will illuminate on the reader if the swipe is successful.

While these two measures won’t be fully implemented until August 2017, our front office staff is currently preparing for the new procedures which will take effect May 15, 2017. Transportation labels will be affixed to student badges. This label will contain the student’s route number and bus stop location. In the event a student boards the wrong bus or is unsure as to where they should exit, the bus driver can easily look at the sticker and ensure the student is where they should be.

As these two phases are implemented, it will be important that your child have their badge with them each day. We will never leave a student at the bus stop in the morning and will bring all students to school. However, a student who has forgotten their badge must report to their school office for a temporary pass for the ride home.

Bus Pass Letter

Carta de pase para autobus


Read more

District Hosts Inaugural Science Fair

Laveen hosted its first district science fair on May 3. Each Laveen school previously held science fairs that included students in Grades 4 — 8. Schools awarded two winners per grade level to compete at the district level fair.

Family, friends, and teachers of the science entrants spent an evening at the Laveen Education Center perusing the variety of experiments. Ribbons were awarded to the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd place winners from each grade level.

Grade Winner School
4th Grade Will Basham Vista del Sur
5th Grade Kiara Rubio* Vista del Sur
6th Grade Sebastian Perez Trailside Point
7th Grade Lindsay Davis Vista del Sur
8th Grade Ariana Ewell Vista del Sur

*Kiara Rubio took the Grand Prize Award for examining how a soccer ball’s pressure affects travel distance when kicked.


Read more